Compare · Speech Central

Book2Speech vs Speech Central

Speech Central: Text-to-speech app for reading PDFs, web articles, books and documents, sold as a one-time purchase with no ads or data collection. Book2Speech does one thing and does it thoroughly: it turns the books you own into audiobooks, with chapters, a narrator you choose and a file you can keep.

Side by side

Reads your own books aloud

Book2Speech
Yes: any DRM-free book or document you own
Or paste a link to an article or paper
Speech Central
Yes

Free plan

Book2Speech
Unlimited listening with Standard voices (English)
10 minutes of Premium voices, 1 book of your own, 1 audiobook download
Speech Central
Free download with a one-time in-app upgrade; free access for blind users with VoiceOver and for schools deploying through Apple School Manager

Paid plans

Book2Speech
From $4.99 a month
Listener $4.99 · Premium $14.99 · Ultra $49.99 a month; yearly costs ten months
Speech Central
One-time purchase: Speech Central Pro $9.99 in-app purchase (US App Store)

Your files

Book2Speech
EPUB, PDF, Word, MOBI, AZW3, FB2, TXT and more
DRM-free, up to 10 MB; or paste a link to an article or arXiv paper
Speech Central
EPUB, PDF, DOCX, TXT

Download an audiobook file

Book2Speech
M4B with chapters and cover, MP3, Opus or WAV
Free 1 · Listener 3 · Premium 15 · Ultra unlimited; narrated with Standard voices
Speech Central
Not verified

Offline listening

Book2Speech
With the downloaded audiobook
Plays in Apple Books or any audiobook app
Speech Central
Yes

Chapters

Book2Speech
From the book’s own contents
Front matter recognised, a suggested start
Speech Central
Not verified

Read along

Book2Speech
Yes
Sentence highlighting; words on the original PDF page
Speech Central
Yes

Voices

Book2Speech
265 narrators in 42 languages
Speech Central
Apple system voices offline plus compatible third-party neural voices and AI cloud voices

Apps

Book2Speech
Web, iPhone and iPad, Mac
Windows and Android apps coming soon
Speech Central
iOS, iPadOS, Android, macOS, Windows

Sleep timer

Book2Speech
Yes
Speech Central
Yes
Speech Central values were checked on the vendors’ own pages and App Store listings on 2026-10-07; “Not verified” means we could not confirm it there, not that it is missing. Spotted something out of date? Write to support@book2speech.com.

Choose Speech Central if…

•
One-time purchase instead of a subscription, and free for blind users and schools.
•
Works offline with the device’s own voices; runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac and Windows.
•
Export of text to audio files for offline listening (format not stated on the fetched pages).
•
Deep customisation and accessibility profiles for ADHD, dyslexia and low vision.

Choose Book2Speech if…

•
Any book, not just the bestsellers that got an audiobook: fewer than 1 in 100 books ever does.
•
Unlimited free listening in English with Standard voices, no trial clock.
•
A real audiobook file to keep: M4B with chapters and cover, or MP3. One is included on the Free plan.
•
Built for whole books: the book’s own chapters, a start past the front matter, page clutter left out of PDFs.
•
265 narrators in 42 languages, and 70,000 free classics ready to play.
•
Paid plans from $4.99 a month.

Switching takes a minute

Your books are files you own. Drop the same DRM-free EPUB, PDF or Word file into Book2Speech, pick a narrator and carry on listening. Nothing to migrate.
Price in USD from the US App Store in-app purchase list on 2026-10-07; the vendor homepage gives no figure (“One-time purchase. No ads. No data collection.”).
Formats from the App Store description: PDF (including scanned), EPUB, Word (.docx), PowerPoint, OpenOffice, HTML, TXT, RTF, Markdown. MOBI absent.
Word highlighting and the sleep timer (now “Sleep Assistant”) are confirmed on the vendor’s own blog. Chapter detection and pronunciation editing were not stated on a fetched page.

Questions people ask

Is Book2Speech a good Speech Central alternative for books?

If you mostly listen to books, yes: it keeps the chapters, skips the front matter, lets you download an M4B or MP3, and English listening with Standard voices is free and unlimited.

Is Book2Speech cheaper than Speech Central?

Book2Speech starts free and its paid plans start at $4.99 a month. Speech Central: One-time purchase: Speech Central Pro $9.99 in-app purchase (US App Store).

Is Book2Speech free?

Yes: unlimited Standard voices in English and 10 minutes of Premium voices, one book of your own and one audiobook download, plus 70,000 free classics.
© 2026 Book2Speech