How the apps that read your books aloud differ on what matters day to day: how much you can listen for free, what you pay, whether you get a file to keep, and how well they understand a book. Every value comes from the vendor’s own pages, with the date and the sources shown.
Why Book2Speech
The questions that decide what you pay to listen to your own books, answered side by side. A badge marks the rows where Book2Speech is ahead; the other rows are there so you can see the whole picture.
Reads your own books aloud
Book2Speech
Yes: any DRM-free book or document
Or paste a link to an article or paper
Paper2Audio
Yes
PDFs, ebooks, papers, web articles
ElevenReader
Yes
Documents, ebooks, articles
Speechify
Yes
Documents, ebooks, web pages
NaturalReader
Yes
PDFs, documents, books, web pages
Audible
No
Plays audiobooks published to Audible; no text-to-speech for your own files
Listening on the free plan
Book2Speech
Unlimited
Unlimited with Standard voices
English books; plus 10 minutes of Premium voices in 42 languages
Paper2Audio
56 hours a week of new audio
Plus: 168 hours a week
ElevenReader
10 hours a month
Ultra: up to 24 hours a day
Speechify
10 basic voices
Premium: at least 150,000 words a month
NaturalReader
Unlimited with its Free Voices
AI voices: 20,000 characters a day (Lite), 4,000 (Plus)
Standard voices (English) or Premium voices (every language)
Paper2Audio
Audio files (M4A) and transcripts
Plus plan only
ElevenReader
Not available
Audio can’t be exported from the app
Speechify
MP3 download
Premium only
NaturalReader
MP3 for personal use
Paid plans only, 1M characters a month
Audible
Not verified
Chapters and where the book starts
Book2Speech
Smart start
Chapters from the book’s own structure; contents pages rebuilt
Front matter recognised, and the player suggests where the book really starts
Included free
Paper2Audio
Chapter detection
Included free
ElevenReader
Not verified
Speechify
Not verified
NaturalReader
Not verified
Audible
Not verified
Skips page clutter
Book2Speech
Page numbers, running headers and citation markers
Included free
Paper2Audio
Footnotes, citations, ads and junk text
Included free
ElevenReader
Headers, footers and filler text
Ultra only
Speechify
Headers, footers and more
Premium only
NaturalReader
Page numbers, headers, footers, citations
Full text filter on paid plans
Audible
Not applicable
Studio-produced catalog audiobooks
Read along
Book2Speech
The original PDF page with the sentence and word highlighted
Page and paragraph views for every book; included free
Paper2Audio
Reader view with tables, figures and math; word highlighting
Included free
ElevenReader
Text highlighting
Plan not stated
Speechify
Word-for-word highlighting
Plan not stated
NaturalReader
Word and sentence highlighting
Audible
Read & Listen
Needs both the Kindle ebook and the audiobook
What you can listen to
Book2Speech
Most formats
EPUB, PDF, DOCX, MOBI, AZW3, FB2, TXT, RTF, HTML
Paste a link to a web page or arXiv paper; 70,000 free classics ready to play
Paper2Audio
PDF, Word, EPUB, text, web pages
Scanned PDFs too
ElevenReader
PDF, Word, EPUB, article links
Speechify
PDF, DOC, DOCX, EPUB
Scans with OCR on Premium
NaturalReader
PDF and documents
OCR for scans on paid plans
Audible
Audible catalog titles
Paid plans from
Book2Speech
Lowest price
$4.99 a month (Listener)
Unlimited Standard voices + 3 hours of Premium voices a month; $49.90 a year
Paper2Audio
$20 a month (Plus)
$192 a year
ElevenReader
$11 a month (Ultra)
$8.25 a month billed yearly
Speechify
$29 a month (Premium)
$139 a year
NaturalReader
$13.90 a month (Lite)
AI voices from $20.90 a month (Plus)
Audible
$8.99 a month (Standard)
Premium $14.95 a month; catalog audiobooks
Prices in USD. Every competitor value was checked on the vendor’s own pricing page, help centre or App Store listing on 2026-10-07; “Not verified” means we could not confirm it there, not that the feature is missing. Book2Speech values describe the product on the same date. Spot something out of date? Email support@book2speech.com.
Which text-to-speech app lets you listen to books for free without a limit?
Book2Speech’s Free plan has unlimited listening with Standard voices for English books, plus 10 minutes of Premium voices in 42 languages. NaturalReader is unlimited with its Free Voices; ElevenReader’s free plan is 10 hours a month and Paper2Audio’s 56 hours a week.
Can I download an audiobook I made from my own ebook?
Yes. Book2Speech builds an M4B with chapters and cover (or MP3, Opus, WAV) from a DRM-free book you own, narrated with Standard voices (free, English) or Premium voices (every language). The Free plan includes one audiobook, Listener 3, Premium 15 and Ultra unlimited. ElevenReader has no export; Speechify, NaturalReader and Paper2Audio offer downloads on paid plans.
What is the cheapest paid plan?
Book2Speech Listener is $4.99 a month ($49.90 a year) with unlimited Standard voices and 3 hours of Premium voices a month. ElevenReader Ultra is $11, NaturalReader Lite $13.90, Paper2Audio Plus $20 and Speechify Premium $29 a month.